Knowledgebase

Client Groups

Client groups are intended to give admin the ability to setup custom permission and access levels for the clients. These are also known as Access Level Control groups. Some of the groups are pre-created and has been made part of the default application structure. Pre-created groups can’t be deleted; however you can modify the names and can update the access levels. Let’s first discuss these pre-created groups and try to understand their role.

Pre-created groups

These default groups are linked with client statuses other than those that are marked as Active. There are clients that would have been marked as Inactive or Unverified. The default groups offer access control for the clients with these statuses. 

Inactive Group

The clients with inactive status are the part of this group. As soon as a client is marked as “Inactive” it is automatically pushed to the inactive group. So, all of the clients with inactive status will be having access to the accounts as defined in the Inactive Group.

Unverified Group

Unverified are the clients that haven’t verified or remained unable to verify the email address/ mobile number they have provided while registration.  These clients will automatically be made part of unverified group and will only be able to land on Verify your Account page.

Verified Group

Clients with verified account credentials will be pushed to this group upon admin approval. If you are having a auto registration or billing system integrated like the addon of Mumara with WHMCS, you can have the clients auto-approved after getting confirmed for their account credentials. You moreover has a function specific setting in the Application Settings to switch On or Off clients auto approval. 

Aforementioned are the default groups, let's now take a look at how we can add a new group using Add Client Group function. 

Navigate to Create Client Group

Main Navigation->Clients->Create Client Group

Group Name (Text Field)

The value in this field would offer a distinct identity to every group you create. Provide a name of the group and the best practice is that name it according to the contacts that later fall into the category of this group. Like the default groups of Inactive and Unverified denote to the status of the contacts in it.

Access Control List (Checkbox Options)

On the right side of your screen, you will see list of all client side features arranged is a sequence of navigational elements. Tick any of the checkboxes to allow particular features to a group and for not to allow list of certain features, keep the checkboxes unchecked. The groups that you create eventually affect the access level of the clients, as the groups are made part of the packages and every client account requires selecting a package.  
ACL and Client Groups

Saving Client Groups 

Choose one of the preferred options to proceed.

Save & Exit

Clicking on this option will save the details/preferences, and get you out of the process you were at. Following message will appear on your screen upon saving the contact details successfully.

Record has successfully been saved.

Save & Add Another

This option will save the current details/preference, and will automatically reopen the same page/process with fresh fields/preferences to continue the process with new entry.

Cancel

Get out of the process without saving details/preferences.

View Client Groups 

The table lists all available client groups including the pre-created default groups as well as the ones that the admin has created later with custom access levels. Active, Inactive and Unverified are the pre-created groups. You can edit/update the pre-created groups but can’t delete them. However with the groups other than the pre-created ones, admin can perform both the actions to edit and delete any of them. 

Navigate to View Client Groups

View Client Groups

Following area discusses the three simple column of View Client Groups table

Serial Number (S/N)

Serial number of clients groups in the table.

Group Name 

Group name was only mandatory field that you filled while creating client group, every group has a name. Default, Inactive and Unverified are pre-created groups.

Actions

Edit

Click to edit an existing group. You can edit pre-created groups as well; can update the name as well as the access levels defined as default. However for the Unverified group, you can’t update the access levels as the clients in unverified groups are only exposed to Verify Account page.

Delete

Click to delete any group, but as mentioned earlier, pre-created groups have linked branches in the whole application and therefore can’t be deleted.